Liverpool dominates shortlist for participant of the year award

LONDON (AP) — Liverpool dominated the six-man shortlist for English soccer’s participant of the year award on Friday as the Premier League champions watch to raise a winner for the third straight season.

Virgil van Dijk, the heart aid who gained the award final season, became once joined on the checklist by teammates Trent Alexander-Arnold, Jordan Henderson and Sadio Mané. Henderson has already been voted soccer writers’ participant of the year for the 2019-20 season.

Manchester City avid gamers Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling total the shortlist for the Professional Footballers’ Affiliation award. The winner will seemingly be announced on Tuesday.

City has below no circumstances had a winner regardless of being a hit four Premier League titles since 2012.

De Bruyne looks to delight in essentially the most interesting likelihood of ending Liverpool’s bustle after scoring 13 targets and getting a anecdote-tying 20 assists.

Liverpool ahead Mohamed Salah became once participant of the year for the 2018-19 season, excellent sooner than De Bruyne. Salah didn’t fabricate this year’s nominees, and neither did Leicester striker Jamie Vardy, the Premier League’s prime scorer final season with 23 targets.

There might be a identical split for the ladies’s award, with four avid gamers from Females’s Smartly-organized League champion Chelsea on the shortlist: Beth England, Sophie Ingle, Guro Reiten and Ji So-Yun. Arsenal avid gamers Vivianne Miedema and Kim Runt are the various nominees.


Extra AP soccer: and

Leave a Comment